City Style

Midday,

it’s lunching,

suited in boardroom sociopathy

By 3pm, its black sartorial

boredom hangs

in downtown coffee bars

The city, at 6, loosens silk ties, casts lustful

stares across crowded pubs

Its throaty, pashmina’d laughs drift

over footlights at 8,

Around 10, it’s sporting fusion-cuisined

energy and scent of MSG

Overtimed road-crew neon reflects

stumbling stillettoes,

come midnight

And at 2am, it’s pyjama-shuffling

its drug-coma’d streets,

mad-haired, in the darkness

But you’ll find it

just before sunup,

reposed against periwinkle sky,

at its naked

best

 

 

 

28 thoughts on “City Style

  1. city style. describes to a ‘t’ bb, and I love seeing the City streets, when no-one’s about, early morning, a hushed sound, almost as if the City is holding it’s breath, or taking a calming breath before the ‘rush’ xx

      • rush hour, criminal, everyone wanting to be somewhere else and not enjoying where they ‘are’ type of thing. I try to be early for everything, so I can be the picture of calm and competence, (doesn’t always work tho’!!) πŸ˜‰ xx

  2. Such a great and accurate description of the day in the life of the city!

    Love these lines “By 3pm, its black sartorial boredom hangs in downtown coffee bars”

    Have a great day! xx

  3. Wow, this takes me back to my days working and playing in the centre of the city – haha – fantastic poem (particularly like the ‘boardroom sociopathy’ – I could write a novel on that subject πŸ˜‰

  4. Oh Bluebee! what a marvelous poem! It’s hard hitting, sharp edged, (loved the stumbling stilettos! can’t figure out how to stand in them anymore…so don’t!), such a deep view of the follies of humanity.

    Truly a passionate and insightful poem that reflects a sharp and compassionate eye.

    I loved it! And…so musical.

    Lady Nyo

  5. great post! only if my day was as comparing to this poem. its very nice!!!! like how you used “pyjama-shuffling” !!!

  6. Here at night I can see the glow of Tulsa in the far off distance. Over head the stars fill my sky with their quiet peace while I sleep without the worry of that lonely madness that those city bars bring. I am thankful my nights are so very different from how they used to be when I ran through the neon light dancing with everything in sight.Peace be with you BB!

    • There’s a time and a place for it, isn’t there, 2zpoint. I mostly prefer to be where I can see the stars and hear nothing but the sounds of nature. You are very fortunate to live in such a calm place πŸ™‚

  7. Man, does your poetry ever pack a wallop! I love this from beginning to end – wish the day were longer. “Scent of MSG” gave me a headache!

Leave a Reply

