The Song Remains the Same

We were cigar-smoking sylphs,
we were angst-ridden waifs,
not quite role-model material
We were The Clash and The Cure,
Lena-Lovich demure,
but never Nirvana funereal

We were Flashdance and Fame,
we were Grease, Purple Rain,
not Dolly-sweet 9 to 5vers
We were Wham, All That Jazz,
Chorus Line razzmatazz,
Saturday NightΒ Fever survivors

We were pathological humour,
the kohl-girls of rumour,
but never drug-addled chic
We were Dark Side of the Moon
and Kate Bush la lune,
living The Dreaming mystique

We were polka-dot punkers,
Spandau Ballerinas,
not tattooed suicide-grunge,
Twisted Sister crazies,
You were Thelma, I, Louise

But,
in the end,
only you
took that plunge

30 thoughts on “The Song Remains the Same

    • Thanks, John – ‘the plunge’ refers to the ending of the movie ‘Thelma and Louise’ (they choose to drive off a cliff together) but in a metaphorical way and is really about the choices we make in life

  1. Excellent poem. I love the phrase ‘kohl-girls’ – that’s what it was like. However, when one plunges into the deep musical chasm of Twisted Sister there is no going back. It’s a vortex, I tell you. A vortex….

  2. haha – brilliant poem and I want those boots πŸ™‚ This poem rings many bells for me – in so many ways. Love the dark thread through the poem, ending with what could be interpreted as the darkest of endings. Happy Easter bb!

  3. Wow, I can relate to the (musical) stages of growing up and becoming the adult that/who I am! Great write, Bb! Btw – great boots!!! The straps remind me of the brace I had to wear for a while (although it didn’t do the job, lol!)

    • Thanks, Adee – the boots are something else, aren’t they? πŸ™‚
      Re the braces, does that mean that your leg hasn’t healed yet? 😦

    • Haha – a big-hair hallucination, perhaps? πŸ™‚ Thx, Tilly (Dolly is a lady to be admired, but country & western music just doesn’t do it for me)

  4. Those boots are sacry!!!! πŸ™‚ I’m finally catching up but will have to come back and comment later on other posts. Thanks for your patience! πŸ™‚

    • They are, hehe πŸ™‚ Please don’t feel you have to come here and comment, Elizabeth. What I write is definitely not widely appealing and I read and comment on your blog because I enjoy it, not because I expect you to do the same

  5. Oh how i loved The Cure. Though Sean Penn’s depiction of a Robert Smith type character in his latest movie is almost enough to put me off them. Damn you Sean Penn.
    Dark Side of the Moon is such a classic. Great taste in music bluebee

    • Robert Smith’s quirky voice is one of a kind πŸ™‚ I haven’t seen the Sean Penn movie yet but from the stills think he looks more like Ozzy.
      Thanks, Nursemyra

Leave a Reply

