Pedestrian

For a moment,
they bob,

these dull black balloons,

tethered to the traffic lights
in stringtime contemplation,

hermetic thoughts
jostle and tangle,
in colourless mirror-image
inscrutability,

safe
to dream themselves red-hot
airships unleashed,

cerulean adventures
aloft a blue-moon day.

xxxxxxx

Wonderfully talented photographer Madelaine Cappuccio has teamed my poem ‘Pedestrian’ with one of her beautiful balloon photos over at her blog, Images by Madelaine Cappuccio.

Thanks, Madelaine πŸ˜€

32 thoughts on “Pedestrian

  1. By the way, BB, I have just purchased your Good Read “when the air hits your brain”
    It is of especial interest since June’s triple brain surgery.
    Thank you for the recommendation
    John

    • Gosh, John, June has been through such a lot. I was aware that she had had neurosurgey and had suffered a complication afterwards, but triple brain surgery?! How very stressful and exhausting for her, and for you and the family. I hope she is getting stronger now.
      I’d be interested to hear what you think of the book. Besides the neuroscience aspect of it (which is always so fascinating), I found Vertosick’s honesty about his fallibilities and the mental pathologies (God complexes, etc) in the profession very interesting. Coincidentally, I finished reading it not long before a friend was diagnosed with a glioma which turned out to be a grade III. The tremendous care and communication that she has had from the medical profession through her surgery and beyond makes me suspect that the medical educators are placing a lot more emphasis on the soft skills requirements of the profession than they used to. Best wishes and strength to you both, John. Thanks, BB.

    • Thanks, Gilly πŸ˜€ I look at people standing at the traffic lights and wish someone would just burst into song or tell a joke or something – winter’s such a repressive season! (and if you’re wondering why I don’t lead the way, I can’t sing and am a hopeless joke-teller ;-))

    • Thanks, Christine πŸ™‚ The unspoken uniform of winter in the CBD is black clothes, and sombre pallid faces. I love it when someone breaks out in alarming colour – a yellow coat or fuchsia pink scarf, haha

  2. You conjure up such images. I also love the image of the hermetic thoughts – that is an outstanding image. You’ve done it again. FABAMUNDO!!!

  3. hahaha – that is exactly what it is like standing at the lights in the city – all the grave looking faces (I used to be one of those πŸ˜‰ ) contemplating the dull work day and other worries – love ‘dull black balloons’ – haha – we need Benedicte to draw the cartoon – one could read ‘hope the bloody dog doesn’t destroy the doona again’ or ‘when is my boss going to have a heart attack!’ Good one bb πŸ™‚

    • I’m sure many have versions of that last thought, Gabe, hahaha. I’m still one of those black balloons occasionally – my traffic-light thoughts alternate between “I wish I was on a cycling holiday in rural Japan” or “I wish I was snorkelling with marine iguana in the Galapagos” to “Oh, @#$$%, I’m sure I’ve left the iron on” πŸ™‚

  4. Pingback: BIG & SMALL « Images

  5. Pingback: INTERIOR « Images

  6. I read this before lunchtime … before I was standing before said black balloons … and it changed the colour of my day. Thank you πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

