Weekend Prompt: Childhood Revisited

bb-ch1

It wasn’t smells or tastes or dear old Patchy,
or Teddy or Polly or clothes that were scratchy,

but bright orange blossoms beaming out from my walls,
retro symbols of happiness from ceiling to floor –
my first bedroom’s wallpaper sticks like glue
in my mind to this dayΒ  (my sibling’s too
at the time they thought he had chronic colic
but, it seems, brother’s wall-art was making him sick –
all those racing-cars whizzing about his head
(he confessed, years later) made him dizzy in bed).

So my first memory – wallpaper, and subtropical heat,
and the tickles of mum’s kisses under my feet.

bb-ob

In response to the Daily Post’s Weekend Prompt: Childhood Revisited – What is your earliest memory? Describe it in detail, and tell us why you think that experience was the one to stick with you.

32 thoughts on “Weekend Prompt: Childhood Revisited

  1. Pingback: TORNADO MEMORIES? « hastywords

  2. AWww. That’s beautiful. I had wallpaper with yellow daisies on it and when I look back it may have been what kept me from sleeping. But I wouldn’t give up the memory of it for anything….

Leave a Reply

