Weekly Photo Challenge: Love

“Old and rare books!”, we gasped in reverent unison,bb-l14

as we swerved off course, making a bee-line for the shop window.

bb-l03

“Don’t open ’til ten”, a chap behind us on the pavement drawled, the smoke from his early morning cigarette curling around his smile. He’d obviously seen our type before.

My niece and I were in Melbourne, relishing some girl-time. The day before we had spent a wonderful day at the Melbourne Museum, where we immersed ourselves in a shared love of all things scientific –

the wild,

bb-l02

the weird,

bb-l01a

OK then, the weird…

bb-l15

..and the seriously mind-boggling.

bb-l17

This day we would spend the morning traversing Melbourne’s laneways, indulging our love of shopping, architecture and art,

bb-l18

and the afternoon marvelling at the mysterious workings of commercial harbours (Melbourne’s has quite a colourful history but I doubt that any internet resource can provide an as wry and amusing and account as our ferry driver didΒ  :lol:).bb-l16

But about that bookshop – we made a mad dash back before closing time
and what a treasure trove it is – an extraordinary collection of enthralling books,

bb-l10

watched over

bb-l06

by the largest collection of owls I’ve ever seen –

bb-l04

they are everywhere, roosting in glass cases,

bb-l13

on pelmets, in windows and on bookshelves,

bb-l12

and have been mysteriously multiplying for the 47 years that Kay Craddock, the bookshop’s owner, has been in business.

But Old and Rare Books was nearing closing time and we were fading fast – a love of chocolate chocolate addiction is in our genes and we hadn’t had our Koko Black fix for the day,

bb-l07

so, after a quick purchase for the love of my life, we exited this wonderful place.

My niece and her husband were with us for three weeks over the 2012/2013 Festive Season: a wonderful and extremely precious time. We don’t know when we’ll see each other again; we live on different continents. But a myriad of shared interests and the deepest bonds of love keep us connected.

πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

More about Melbourne

Food recommendations from our trip:

Koko Black (of course!)

City Wine Shop (don’t let the name fool you – this establishment is not all about wine: their food is quite delicious – and their desserts are sublime!)

bb-l09

Longrain – the duck salad (which we shared) was superb, as was the banana and lime sorbet- yum, yum.

And for excellent photos of Melbourne, head over to Leanne Cole’s blog – mine can never do Melbourne justice the way that Leanne’s most certainly do.

For more entries to this week’s photo challenge, see The Daily Post.

44 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Love

    • I think the Melbourne Museum is one of the best in the country, Christine. It’s my third visit there. My niece makes her own non-dairy chocolate but just loved Koko Black πŸ˜€

  1. Wonderful images of your day together, BB. That Koko Black beverage looks . . . awesome. Delicious enough to entice me away from that intriguing owl guarded book store.

    • Who could resist a bookstore that stocks books with titles such as “Ghastly Good Taste or a Depressing Tale of the Rise and Fall of English Architecture”? 😯

  2. Tilly Bud pointed this post out to me because I love owls. I also love books. Now I desperately want to go to this shop!

    I’ve never heard of Koko Black. It looks amazing!

  3. Wow, what an absolutely wonderful post. Loved the tour but especially loved the bookstore. I would have done the same thing and been lost for a few hours in there! Oh, and your niece is gorgeous!

    • Thanks, Kate – funny how we love the light in each other’s photos πŸ˜€ My SIL lives in Sweden and I love the very strange (to me) light in her marvellous photos too. How is it possible for anyone to be bored?!

    • Haha – I’m so NOT a shopper unless it’s unusual stationery ‘n things – I think a place like Tokyo could possibly convert me into a shopaholic. I hear that they have the most amazing stationery (and lolly) shops).
      Thx Gabe πŸ™‚

  4. ps, don’t know how it happened but hubby seems to think I need to collect owls πŸ˜‰ he got me a giant owl sculpture from the local hardware shop for Christmas – hmmm and the year before he got me a big replica owl (made like the museum sculptures) on a branch πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

