Treasure Hunting

Shopping is one of my least favourite activities, so I usually try to avoid it. But when I’m travelling, I love to shop for small, unusual gifts for family and friends.

Shopping prep, Granville Island. Photo by Vi.Shopping prep, Granville Island. Photo by Vi.

My husband’s not an easy giftee. He has everything he needs, and although he doesn’t have everything he wants (who does?), my budget doesn’t extend to Beneteaus and Breitlings. So his gifts from my travels are somewhat (ahem) eclectic. This is the latest.

Miniature Solar-powered RainbowMaker designed by David Dear

It’s an elaborate yet simple piece of engineering (to delight a child of any age).

Rainbows…go, catch some.

 

 

 

 

 

32 thoughts on “Treasure Hunting

  1. I’m with you. Not a fan of shopping in chains (except for food), BUT I enjoy strolling through small eclectic shops to pick up the odd item for gifting.

    And, yay! Now I know what you look like.

  2. What a great find! (I’m quite jealous.)

    My husband is so difficult to buy things for. I found buying things for him and for the boys incredibly difficult on the last trip as so much of what was on offer was either aimed at females (bags, scarves, purses) or were just dust collectors. I did manage to bring home some Bhutanese wine for The Husband. I’m not sure how good it will be given it cost me about $4 a bottle but it will be fun to try. 🙂

  3. What great gifts you’ve chosen for someone who is a difficult “giftee!” You must have given this a lot of thought. Every once in a while, I am an inspired gift giver, but those moments don’t come often enough!

  4. Have just seen this post – November to now have been difficult for me keeping up with my Aunt’s death on 30 October necessitating many trips for me to Sydney. But. I’m with you. I’m not a huge shopper – and when I travel the only shopping I enjoy is gifts for others.

    Funnily enough, my husband, also a difficult giftee, was given one of those rainbow makers a few years ago by a Japanese visitor (our son’s girlfriend at the time). We had it on the kitchen window and certain times of the year it gave such a show!

Leave a Reply

