70 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Today (Saturday)

  1. What cuties – I so love the galah – one of my favourite birds and so full of antics when they get drunk on nectar – haha – I once saw about 20 Galahs on the side of the road who couldn’t fly they were so drunk – they were swaying 😉 What the hell is a plane tree?

  2. *said in a high-pitched squeal* Aren’t they cute? Aren’t they cute? I love galahs too. They are true characters. I think all that pink goes to their heads. LOVE THIS!!!!!!

    • They are such characters, Selma. They have a fine old time in that tree in the morning, making a right royal mess of the verge and the road 🙂 Thanks.

    • The way they are camouflaged in the autumn-coloured leaves is quite amazing, Christine. They are so noisy – love the sound of their chatter. 🙂

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Today « heartfelt images

    • Yes, I wouldn’t have noticed them but for their chomping and chatter 🙂 Thanks for stopping by, and for commenting, Shannon 🙂

    • Hello, Monica 😀 Welcome back. Yes, galahs, lorikeets, sulphur-crested cockatoos, kookaburras are all regular visitors to our neighbourhood 🙂

  4. We are so lucky in Australia to have such beautiful bird species. Galahs are one of my favourites but I’ve got a soft spot for the kookaburra too

  5. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Today | Wind Against Current

  6. they blend nicely with the colours of the leaves. You say they are common and to me they look so exotic and rare! Like the squirrels, here, all the tourists are taking tons of picture of them and they are so common , but I still enjoy looking at them.

  7. What a gorgeous bird, bluebee, I’ve never seen a galah before. How come Aussies have the best names ever for their animals? Koalas, kangaroos…

    • They are lovely birds, Nicola, and yet their name is also the slang word for ‘stupid’ – I’ve never understood why because they’re smart birds 🙂

      • I believe the expression galah (ie., ‘you great galah’) means being a clown or playing up and being a larrikin rather than being stupid – and that is what galah’s do (especially when consuming too much fermented nectar 😉 ) – sorry to interrupt 🙂

        • Aha! That makes a whole lot more sense now. I could never understand the ‘stupid’ tag. Thanks for clearing that up, Gabe. Hope you and family are feeling better today 🙂

    • It is truly magical, IT 🙂 Never in cages – I hate to see a bird in a cage. I think it is shockingly cruel. Thanks for the comment. I won’t be able to take part in your weekly challenge but will enjoy looking at the entries 😀

Leave a comment